New Notary laws take effect on July 1, 2017 – Here is information on the new laws
Do you need to renew your notary commission?Technically, commissions are not renewed. You simply re-apply for another 6 year commission by filling out the application form and getting a new bond. You do not need to obtain a new rubber stamp seal if you already have one. You can apply for a new commission up to 90 days prior to your current commission lapsing.
(We do not send renewal reminders.)
Notary Public Acknowledgement forms (Idaho Code § 55-7)
Notary Public Links – Other States
Commission Connection – Notary Public Newsletter.
Please Note: When dealing with documents written in a language that you cannot read, should you be asked to notarize a signature on a document verifying that the individual is alive and living in Idaho, YOU MAY actually be making the statement that this information is correct instead of the individual making the statement. Ask the signer if your name appears anywhere in the document before you notarize. If you are named, DO NOT notarize the document. Let the signer know that he/she must make that statement and not you.
Looking for your Idaho birth certificate or similar document?The Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics can help you. If you need your documents quickly, the Bureau of Vital Statistics offers expedited service. Scroll down on their web page to see options. Call the Bureau of Vital Statistics at (208) 334-5988 for more information.
Questions? Contact us.